2015

On this second last day of 2015, I’m feeling very thankful for many things.

I’m thankful to be home. India has been awesome, but nothing beats being home. I felt this the most when both pa and ma were hospitalised (on separate occasions, thankfully) this year. I was able to visit them the moment I knew, and then every day. During their most fragile moments, they spoke more openly and shared hilarious and heart-wrenching stories about their younger days. It made me question why didn’t I take the time before to get to know them better, beyond their roles as parents? Thankfully it is not too late. They are both well (enough) now and I hope 2016 will be a more peaceful year for the family.

I’m thankful for the many new friendships formed, and old friendships firmed. Old friends have been extremely generous with their time and advice, whilst new friends have readily embraced me. If not for the advice of an old friend on 29 May 2015, “If not now, then when?” I’d probably still be floundering and fretting about where I’m headed.

I’m thankful for the strong support from PJ when I took a significant pay-cut to take on an opportunity I couldn’t miss. And I’m thankful I did not let fear cloud and overwhelm my decision.

I’m thankful for the current job and the many life lessons I’m receiving. It’s been a humbling, exciting, inspiring and thought-provoking journey. And I look forward to 2016.

I will also remember 2015 as a year of tears – tears were shed when Mr LKY passed away; when I was saying goodbye to Mumbai; when Dharma & Greg took the plane to Singapore; when pa was hospitalised; when ma was hospitalised; when I watched movies with old people who are sickly, alone, lonely and confused, and reflected upon life’s fragility; when I read “Still Alice”; the many quarrels I had with PJ (yes, we fight like normal couples do) over insignificant and significant issues; when Bing Bong died in “Inside Out”; when Flo and I surprised Char with a staycation; when I watched a short video about the awesomeness of a mum’s love.

1923_BingBong_InsideOut_501_copie

2015 has been eventful and emotional. I look forward to a quieter, smoother 2016. To Be the flow.

Wishing you an awesome 2016 ahead. :)

Fret not where the road will take you. Instead concentrate on the first step. That’s the hardest part and that’s what you are responsible for. Once you take that step let everything do what it naturally does and the rest will follow. Do not go with the flow. Be the flow.

  • Elif Shafak, Forty Rules of Love
Leave a Reply

